recipe: lumpia

lumpia

This one was a challenge for me to attempt. Mainly because I’ve had awesome tasting lumpia that I was afraid of disappointing myself. Ho hum. Not only that, I think one of my aunts makes the best lumpia so I was definitely trying to hold myself up to her standards. Although I don’t think mine is as great as hers, I’ve received really wonderful comments from friends and co-workers about this. So, thank you, everyone!

IMPORTANT: I suggest cooking one small piece first to see how it tastes before you start rolling up an entire batch.

INGREDIENTS
1 pound of ground pork
1 package of egg roll wrapper (I’ve used Spring Home’s TYJ Spring Roll Wrapper)
1/2 medium onion, cubed
1/2-3/4 cup of grated carrots, chopped finely
1 tablespoon of cornstarch
2 tablespoons of soy sauce (I just eye-ball it, but this should be approximate)
1 egg
Salt and pepper to taste
Corn oil (or whichever frying oil you want to use)

HOW TO MAKE
1. Mix it all together, except for the wrapper
2. Easy, right?

HOW TO FILL THE WRAPPER
1. Prepare a plate, a small bowl of water with 1 teaspoon of cornstarch, and a teaspoon
2. Slowly peel one wrapper from the bunch and place it on your plate like a diamond
3. Use your teaspoon to put the meat in the bottom center of the wrapper and spread the meat so it’s close to the ends. Grab more if you need to.
4. Begin rolling it upwards and tucking in the sides
5. When you reach 3/4 up towards the end of the wrapper, use your hand and dip it in water. Then pat your finger on the end of the wrapper before completely rolling it. This will seal the wrapper.
6. Do this until you run out of meat. You won’t run out of wrappers.
7. Cut the filled wrapper into 3 sections

HOW TO COOK

cookinglumpia
(I’ve used several different pans to make this, so use whatever you own or works best for you. The picture shows a 10-inch frying pan)
1. In a 12-inch frying pan, heat up the corn oil until it’s hot
2. Place each roll into the pan until it’s full, but not overcrowded
3. Let each side cook for 3-5 minutes before flipping over, or until each side is golden brown (make sure you’re thoroughly cooking the meat without burning the wrapper)
4. Remove from the pan and place on a paper towel on a plate to soak up the oil

sweetchilisauce

Serve with sweet chili sauce and dip to your heart’s desire.

Leave a Reply

