recipe: shrimp & bacon pasta with pink sauce

shrimpbacon3

This is a typical pasta I make at home when I’m too lazy to cook. The “pink sauce” name comes from 1) my dad and 2) mixing alfredo sauce and any red sauce together. It doesn’t take too long and you can really use whatever you want. But since I love shrimp and bacon, I decided to cook them together and the result is always a thumbs up from my boyfriend. Who doesn’t love bacon?!

INGREDIENTS
1 box of spaghetti (Barilla is my favorite)
1 pound of shrimp, peeled and deveined
6 slices of bacon, cut into small pieces
1 jar of Alfredo sauce (I use any of the Bertolli Light sauces)
1/4 jar of red pasta sauce (I use Newman’s Own Sockarooni)
olive oil, salt, pepper
parsley (optional)

HOW TO MAKE
1. Boil water with salt and cook pasta to desired firmness
2. In a skillet or sauce pan, pour 3 tablespoons of olive oil
3. Toss in your small pieces of bacon and let it cook until it’s a nice golden brown color
4. Remove bacon from the pan, leaving the oil and bacon fat, then toss in your shrimp
5. Add a pinch of salt and pepper to the shrimp and let it cook until it’s opaque
6. Drain oil/juices and toss your bacon back in the pan with the shrimp
7. Pour the entire jar of alfredo sauce and mix
8. Pour only 1/4 of the jar of your chosen red sauce and mix
9. Drain your pasta and pour your sauce on top
10. Mix well and top with parsley (or if you’re like me, just eat it right away).

Leave a Reply

