recipe: filipino fruit salad

fruitsalad2

Just like lumpia, this is another Filipino party/event staple. I’ve helped my mom make this in different ways but this recipe and portioning is what I used for a work holiday party. I have to admit that my 3rd can of fruit cocktail turned out to be halved peaches so I had to slice them into smaller pieces. Oops for grabbing the wrong can, but as long as it’s sweet fruit, it should work out.

INGREDIENTS
3 cans of fruit cocktail  (I used the 30oz Del Monte Classic Fruit Cocktail)
2 cans of media crema/table cream (I used the 7.6 oz Nestle brand)
1 can of sweetened condensed milk (I used the 14 oz Carnation brand)
1 pound bag of shredded coconut (either frozen or dry, from the baking section–I used dry for this one)

HOW TO MAKE
1. In a large bowl, mix the 3 cans of fruit cocktail and the 2 cans of media crema
2. Slowly pour in the condensed milk to your desired sweetness (I only used 1/4 of the can and it turned out to be the perfect amount of sweet–although, my parents might be disappointed I didn’t use more.)
3. Toss in your desired amount of coconut flakes.
4. Mix well and let it cool in the fridge before serving.

fruitsalad

Like I said, you can make this different ways. You can chop some apples or even use cubed cheddar cheese. You can even use more media crema and condensed milk.

Leave a Reply

