restaurant review: sardine

In honor of Restaurant Week, here’s a throwback to a dinner date at Sardine.

Yelp Review 7/25/2013

Image
What a great place!

Restaurant Week brought us here for a date night and although we only tried what was on the set menu, I don’t think there really was a flaw in our experience.

SERVICE: Server did not miss a step. I mean, seriously. I drank from my glass of water and suddenly he’s beside me pouring it to the rim. One of the very few restaurants where WE didn’t have to look around for our server and wait on him/her.

APPETIZERS: Mixed melon salad (watercress, fennel, mint and balsamic glaze) was perfect for summer. Although I wish it was colder, it had a nice balance of the sweetness of the melons and a slight tart from the balsamic glaze. My boyfriend enjoyed his smoked whitefish croquette (with petite crisp and tangy cucumber, radish and tomato salad) and after having a taste of it, I’d have to agree. It was a great crisp and the flavor of the fish was amazing. This could easily be made into an entree and I would devour it. I noticed they had a lobster croquette on their regular dinner menu so that will be a must try.

ENTREES: Duck confit of leg and thigh (charred green beans, green cabbage, roasted potatoes and blackberry compote) was nothing stellar in itself, but strangely enough it was perfect altogether. My boyfriend had duck for the first time while tasting it and he decided it he liked it enough that he overall now likes duck. “Tastes kind of like turkey,” he said. I didn’t think I’d enjoy the duck with blackberry compote but I saved it for last so I could enjoy it longer. He had the grilled pork chop (herbed citrus jus, roasted fennel, green olive, cherry, dandelion greens and faro) which I got a chance to taste as well and it was very tender. I usually avoid pork at restaurants because sometimes they’re either too tough or too salty, but this was the best pork I’ve had thus far.

DESSERTS: Profiteroles (vanilla bean ice cream, chocolate sauce) are pretty much cream puffs with ice cream. Blueberry crostata (toasted almonds, lemon curd) was very tart with even the slightest lemon curd but still tasty. Both desserts were very good.

Hopefully next time we can come back and sit outside and try the rest of their regular menu. Brunch looks just as great as dinner. It was a great introduction to the restaurant!

Sardine
617 Williamson St
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 441-1600
sardinemadison.com

Leave a Reply

